jump to navigation

Navy BEATS Army! 24-0 November 1, 2008

Posted by midswatch in Sports.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Tonight was my first *official* photo shoot with my new camera. Earlier this week I heard that Navy would play Army in Sprint Football at home. I immediately began to research the combination of [night shooting + sports]. I knew it would be a great opportunity. I would get sideline access, and of course we’d win. Navy always beats Army.

INTERESTING HISTORICAL FACT: This game marked the first non-mandatory sporting event I have attended on the yard since plebe year (which was also the Army-Navy Sprint Football game.)

The Plan:

-Arrive early

-Figure out the best settings given the scenario (night game lit by field lights)

-Take a gig-a-ba-zillion shots

-Hopefully one turns out well

-Learn something

-Watch Navy CRUSH Army

Results:

On my way out to the game, Jason and Billy cut me off and suggested we take a detour to eat burgers at Five Guys. Bill assured me we’d make it back for the second half, so I gave in. Not only did greasy food sound delicious, but it was also an opportunity to leave the yard on my own power and cruise through Annapolis in Jason’s brand-spanking-new Dodge Ram.

The burger tasted great, but it cost me $6. That’s $6 more than I planned on spending tonight.

We also stopped by the new Target. I only mention this because it has escalators that can transport shopping carts!

But my camera! I needed to use my camera! We arrived at the game in the third quarter. Navy led 21-0. It took me about five minutes before I abandoned my buds in the stands and kneeled next to the sideline. I felt nerdy with all of the gear hanging off of me. But in moments like these, I embrace the nerd within and carry on. I took over 300 shots in two quarters of play.

Stephen Phillips launched a 44-yard field goal–awesome–but I was 90 yards from the kick = no photo. Navy 24-0.

I knew it would be difficult to get any sort of results. I tried multiple combinations of apertures, shutter speeds, and sensitivities. Nothing turned out very well, but that wasn’t important. I learned, and I enjoyed the process. Post  shoot, I sorted through my photos. I doctored what I could and declared the time of death for the rest. Unfortunately, the only plays close to me happened when Army had the ball. On the bright side, I had the opportunity to unsuccessfully attempt to capture Navy sacking Army’s quarterback over and over.

I learned a whole lot and had a great time with friends. Success.

GO NAVY! BEAT ARMY!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a comment